Tunduru District

Tunduru District is one of 5 districts in Ruvuma Region of southern Tanzania. It is bordered to the north by the Lindi Region, to the east by the Mtwara Region, to the south by Mozambique and to the west by the Namtumbo District.

Tunduru District is administratively divided into 7 divisions, 24 wards and 148 villages. As of 2012, the population of Tunduru District was 298,279.

In 2013, supported by the World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF) - Tanzania Country Office, we conducted an assessment of the potential to scale-up participatory forest management in Tunduru District (download the report here). Later, in 2014, we expanded our work to Tunduru District, in partnership with WWF-Tanzania, MJUMITA and Tunduru District Council. You can find out more about our partnership here.